One Uni Year Later

I have found it very strange coming to the realisation that it has almost been one university year and it makes me think about to my experiences of undergraduate study with all the modules and hard work and how it now compares to doing full-time research.

At first glance it does not seem that I have accomplished much during what feels like a short time since I have graduated. Although, looking at all of the experiences and skills I have learnt in these past few months I can’t help but be amazed that I now have skills using and preparing microfluidic devices, MatLab for several image analysis techniques, coding Kilobots as well as the use of simulation software for these various techniques.

A lot of these skills I wouldn’t have imagined learning or using such a wide variety of programs since a lot of the data I had previous collected is displayed in chronological data points with varying values. With these values, a lot of the data can be displayed in a graph using Excel. Given what the data I am trying to display requires density/intensity histogram maps, using excel to run these tasks may be out of reach or difficult to achieve so learning how to use MatLab has saved time and increased my productivity.

Although learning skills and improving methodology is important, I feel a greater skill I have learnt over this time is the people who you meet, teach and collaborate with to reach a shared goal. With greater communications now more than ever, I feel these connections where ever and who ever can only be a great benefit and this PhD has given me the best opportunity to meet these researchers and to talk at the same level, the same language. As well as learning these different skills, I feel I can communicate across engineering to biomedical sciences understanding the benefits and limitations of each process such as the simulation compared to the In Vitro and In Vivo studies.


 

PhD Update – 10 months.

Funded by EPSRC at the University of Bristol; Associated with Bristol Robotics Lab, University of the West of England.

Leave a Reply

